Atlas AMA June 2 2020

As promised, I’m devoting a bunch of time this morning to answering forum questions. I decided that an impromptu AMA is the way to go, so here we are. First, just a few ground rules & information points.

• I play War Dragons and Atlas every day, but I also know that I am still learning. No doubt I will learn things in this thread.
  • I probably won’t be able to answer everything here, and of course if there are a lot of folks asking questions, I might not get to everything. I’m very open to doing a followup later this week or early next week, but we’ll wait and see if that’s needed.
  • I really do appreciate the community and all the feedback. It’s a tough time for many out there in the real world. Let’s do our best to discuss the issues and stay focused on improving War Dragons.

I see the following as the general Roadmap for Atlas. No doubt timelines will change and new ideas will arise, but the current plan looks like:

I’m going to start with the 4 questions that Panda posted a few days ago.

3 Likes
  1. PGDave answers this in his thread about the land shuffle. Atlas Proposal: Seasonal Land Shuffle TLDR it will reduce map stagnation and lay the groundwork for additional features to improve Atlas.
  2. Yes it is a new map. It’s a randomized map based on parameters we are currently setting up and experimenting with. It will use the same visual assets as the old map but the land will be a different shape. The shape will change at the beginning of each season when we do this ‘shuffle.’
  3. Swapping teams will still be allowed, of course, but with the 14-day cooldown and many player’s enjoyment of and loyalty to their teams mean that the shuffle will still be effective. Also alliances will mostly be grouped together, so they’ll be able to respond to such events.
  4. With a different, more connected map (see the proposal thread about reduced castle depth), there will be different, and we believe, more Atlas action.