Releases in general

Sorry for a wall of text and possibly worthless rant in the beginning.

I’m making this thread as a suggestion becouse I didn’t find any better platform and wanted to create discussion about the topic. I’ve also talked with alot of other well distinguished team leaders and devs that play WD and they agree with what I’m about to write.

First of all I’m a senior software developer working in an international listed company for the last 6 years. I get to design and create programs and tools for accounting business, business intelligence and data analytics. My job is pretty chill and I like it alot and can say I’m becoming pretty good at it after studies in uni and working for years in a quality-first company.

My job is easier becouse I have alot of backup. People inspect and discuss about all releases, I have what ever tools I need to do my job and the most important part - I have a team of testers testing my stuff weeks before initial release. This team of testers are the number 1 reason why I’ve managed to do well in my job.

Without testing, there can be all kinds of chain reactions to otherwise working operations. This doesn’t apply to WD straight but my rant is almost over. Without testing I can assure you that most of our releases, not just mine but whole dev teams, could possibly cause some serious damage. If our main systems are down or don’t work properly for a day or even half a day, it costs not thousands but millions of €’s.