Why Swap Dragons before Dying? Beginner Question

Hello everyone, I’m a beginner and I’m a level 34. I recently saw a beginners tips guide and there was one tip I didn’t quite understand. So the tip was to always swap out your dragon right before he dies. I don’t understand this, I know that if a dragon dies it’ll take the full time to heal and if it is half health then it will take half the time to heal however I’m currently trying to level all of my dragons up so wouldn’t it be beneficial to use one dragon on a base rather than using two? If I use one then all of the XP could goto that dragon rather than being cut in half. Any help is appreciated !

Thanks!!

You are correct it is better to use only 1 dragon on a base to maximize the XP for that dragon. If you see a dragon is going to die, you can swap it out to save some of the heal time on it, but that is only when necessary.

In wars if a stronger player is following on a base you really can’t help on, the follower will sometimes as you to immediately swap to avoid letting a mage supershot hit your dragon.

Ignoring followers, I think the above answer on saving healing time is the reason.

1 Like

I think it depends on how you plan on using your dragons. If I want to use my multipliers during the few hours a day that I play, I’m going to be using my heal potions on them anyway. So swapping before they die may not make sense, unless someone is following you. Then it may be important to swap before any mage towers can steal the rage you have built up so you can pass it to the next player.

If you’re not going to use heal potions and are going to wait until the dragon is healed, then I think it makes sense to swap early to reduce heal time.

As was already pointed out, it is probably better to use one dragon, but generally if you have arranged backup, you are trying to make life easier for the backup.